What Can I Eat & Drink?

This is a very simple overview of a gluten-free diet, you must be your own detective and label reading fool.  Some important things to remember when shopping or dining out:


  • Wheat free is NOT Gluten-free
  • Spelt, Durum, Kamut, Semolina, Faro, Graham and Einkorn are all forms of Wheat 
  • Gluten-free also means having to avoid Barley, Rye and Triticale 
  • Although Oats themselves do not contain gluten, they are grown in the wheat fields off season and may or may not be contaminated. Always look for Oats specifically labeled Gluten-Free.

    Grains Allowed


    Rice
    Corn (Maize)
    Potatoes
    Beans
    Soy
    Tapioca
    Quinoa
    Millet
    Buckwheat
    Arrowroot
    Amaranth
    Flax
    Sorghum
    Nut Flours
    Montina
    Teff
    Garfava



    Grains NOT Allowed


    Wheat (Spelt, Durum, Kamut, Semolina, Faro, Graham, Einkorn)
    Barley
    Rye
    Triticale
    Oats that aren't labeled Gluten-Free



    Alcohols Allowed


    Wine
    Hard Liquor (Distilled alcoholic beverages, even the ones made from barley, rye or wheat such as   Vodka or Whiskey, are gluten-free. The gluten-peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process and therefore leaves the resulting alcohol gluten-free, Yay!)
    Gluten-free beer
    Sake
    Hard Cider (naturally gluten-free and will be labeled as such on many brands)

    Alcohols NOT Allowed


    Beer
    Ale
    Lager
    Malted beverages (wine coolers, hard lemonade, etc)


    Foods and Products that MAY contain gluten


    Salad Dressings
    Marinades
    Brown Rice Syrup
    Lunch Meats
    Gravies and Sauces
    Soy Sauce (look for gluten-free labeled soy sauces)
    Chicken, Beef or Vegetable Stock
    Vitamin, Mineral, Herbal and Nutritional Supplements
    Drugs and Over the Counter Medications
    Communion Wafers
    Spice Blends
    Imitation Bacon, Seafood (imitation crab definitely contains gluten) or Cheese
    Cereal
    Flour
    Roux
    Protein Bars
    Pasta
    And Many More


    Like I said, you have to be a label reading fool. Call manufacturers or restaurants and ask questions if you really want something and always remember: When in Doubt, Do Without.